Welcome to the Texas Pain Society

The Texas Pain Society is a non-profit organization of over 350 pain practitioners that are involved in acute and chronic pain management of patients in Texas. The Texas Pain Society represents the practice of pain medicine in Texas with a seat on the Texas Medical Association's House of Delegates.


Our mission is to improve the quality of life of Texans who suffer from pain.

 Need to find a member? Search the online directory now!

  Pain Management Agreement and Informed Consent Forms - Available to members and the public

  In Memory Of C. Stratton Hill, MD

 Texas Pain Society is saddened that one of our founders and a leading advocate for pain care has passed away.  Dr. C. Stratton Hill was a founding member and the second president of TPS from 1992-96.  He was a prominent figure in public policy supporting treatment for chronic pain, and was a humanitarian in the highest sense.  Dr. Hill authored the Texas Intractable Pain Treatment Act, which was the first state statute of its sort, and which served as the model for the rest of the USA.    

 C. Stratton Hill, Jr., M.D., Professor Emeritus of Medicine, joined the faculty of the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center from Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York City, in 1963.  Dr. Hill early established a formal Pain Treatment Service at MD Anderson.  Dr. Hill was a founding member of the Texas Cancer Pain Initiative as well as the Texas Pain Society, both organizations dedicated to improving pain treatment education for health care professionals and public policy facilitating access to care.  Dr. Hill was appointed to two terms on the Texas Cancer Council.  He served on pain treatment guidelines and curriculum committees for the Agency for Health Care Quality and Research of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, and the Texas Cancer Council.  He also served on the Advisory Committee for Pain Relief of the American Cancer Society.  He was the recipient of the American Cancer Society’s Humanitarian Award in 1995, and shared the 1997 National Drug Policy Foundation’s Norman Zinberg Award for Excellence in Medicine and Treatment with Kathleen Foley of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.  In recent years, he had facilitated health care for the underserved in Houston as Vice President for Health Affairs of the Open Door Mission, for which he received Mayor Anise Parker’s Volunteer of the Year Award in 2010.

 The Schade-Hill Public Policy Award is an annual award created by the Texas Pain Society to recognize the outstanding work of an individual or group of individuals who have helped make positive changes in the world  of pain medicine. This award is inspired by the countless hours that  Drs. C.M. Schade & Stratton Hill dedicated to Texas Pain Society to help craft the pain  medicine laws that govern Texas today.


Dr. Hill will be missed, but his memory and his legacy will fuel progress in our efforts in clinical care, research, education, and public policy for the future of the practice of Pain Medicine.   





In October 2014, the Texas Pain Foundation became operational as a 501c3 nonprofit charitable organization. Unlike the Texas Pain Society, a 501c6 organization, the Foundation focuses only on education and research and CAN accept unrestricted educational grants but CANNOT engage in lobbying. 

The aims and objectives of the Foundation are to advance the art and science of pain medicine in Texas. 

I hope you make a donation to the Foundation to assist in staff recruitment and program development in 2016.

As we look to the year ahead, educational activities about pain and its treatment are more crucial than ever and I hope you will make a donation to support our work.

With your donations, the Texas Pain Foundation will continue to work towards educational efforts about pain medicine and pain treatments.

 Thank you for your consideration of this request.

James E. Heavner, DVM, PhD Texas Pain Foundation Chair and  other Board of Directors members, Richard Hurley, MD and Graves Owen, MD  and Cheryl Crenshaw and Krista DuRapau, Executive Director.





Image result for prescriptions fraud\ 






The links above are via a RSS to third party sites and are provided solely for convenience. TPS accepts no liability for the accuracy or content provided by these links or for any issues arising from reliance upon said content. Nor, by inclusion, does TPS endorse any product or service advertised by said parties or sites.

Upcoming Events

View Full Calendar