Hassenbusch Continued Learning Scholarships

The Samuel J. Hassenbusch, MD, PhD Continued Learning Scholarship Abstract & PMR Scholarships are annual scholarships sponsored by the Texas Pain Society & Texas Pain Foundation and created to honor the memory of TPS Board Member, Dr. Sam Hassenbusch.

Dr. Hassenbusch was an advocate for teaching and spent a majority of his life teaching others what he had learned.

The case study scholarship is open to Texas fellows and residents with an interest in pain medicine. Entries must be received before the cutoff date. All submissions will be reviewed by the committee and the top 5 submissions will be asked to present live at the TPS Annual Scientific Meeting. 

PMR residents scholarships are available for up to five residents PMR residents who have an interest in pain medicine. Entries will be reviewed and decided upon by the TPS Board of Directors. 


 Congratulations to the 2016 Case Study Winners!
The following winners will present their case live at the TPS Meeting on October 29, 2016 from 4:30pm -6:00pm. 


Maxime Debrosse, MD
Activity-dependent paresthesias associated with Gabapentin therapy: a case report

Hai Nguyen, DO
Pseudo-Subarachnoid Hemorrhage After Inadvertent Dural Puncture During Cervical Epidural Steroid Injection

Emily L. Walker, M.D
Phrenic Nerve Stimulation in a Patient with a Dorsal Column Stimulator

Siddarth Thakur, M.D
Tumoral calcinosis: a recalcitrant painful condition

Katrina Von-Kriegenbergh, MD
Occiptial Field Stimulator Implantation After Chiari Decompression