Hassenbusch Lectureship Award

The Samuel J. Hassenbusch, MD, PhD Lectureship Award is an annual award created by the Texas Pain Society to honor the memory of TPS board member Dr. Sam Hassenbusch.

This award is presented to an individual each year during the TPS Annual Meeting. The board of directors will select the person to receive the award based on the individual’s research, academic achievements, professional contributions to pain management, patient care, and advocacy, among other factors.

This person will receive a plaque and will have $1,000 donated from TPS on their behalf to Riders For the Cure.

16th Annual Samuel J. Hassenbusch Lectureship Award 2022: Robert Levy, MD, PhD
Dr. Robert Levy earned his medical degree at Stanford University, where he also received his Ph.D. in neurosciences and completed a postdoctoral fellowship. He performed a second postdoctoral research fellowship and his residency in neurological surgery at the University of California, San Francisco, where his mentors included Dr. Howard Fields, Dr. Charles Wilson, and Dr. Yoshio Hosobuchi. He then moved to Northwestern University, where he rose to the level of tenured professor of neurological surgery, physiology, and radiation oncology at the Feinberg School of Medicine. During this period, he served as acting chairman of the department of neurological surgery. He was then recruited to serve as professor and chairman of the department of neurological surgery and co-director of the UF Health Jacksonville Neuroscience Institute at the University of Florida College of Medicine in Jacksonville, Florida.
He most recently served as the founding director of the Marcus Neuroscience Institute and director of the Harvey Sandler Center for Neurosurgery in Boca Raton, Florida. Dr. Levy has authored several textbooks and published 300 peer-reviewed journal articles. He has been the recipient of many national and international honors and awards and has been listed in the Best Doctors in America. His current research involves novel applications of neurostimulation and targeted drug delivery to the brain. He has assisted with the design and implementation of multiple new neuromodulation technologies and instruments.
Past Winners

October 2021
October 2019
November 2018
October 2017

October 2016 
October 2015 
October 2014 
October 2012 
November 2011
October 2010
June 2010
June 2009  
October 2009
June 2008 

Linda R. Watkins, PhD
Vanila M. Singh, M.D., MACM
John P. McCallin, MD, FAAPMR, MAJ, MC

Martin Grabois, MD
Daneshvari R. Solanki, MD
Larry Driver, MD
Gabor Racz, MD
Steve Passik, PhD
Prithvi Raj, MD
Alex Cahana, MD, FIPP
Marc Huntoon, MD, FIPP 
Joshua Prager, MD 
John Loeser, MD, FIPP, ABIPP